Debutantes: “The Overnighter” by Brianna

Friday started off like any other day, or at least it felt that way. The thought of learning new things and seeing the world differently never crossed my mind. Things turned out way better than expected Friday evening when we Debutantes took the time to share and learn new things about ourselves, and how to get closer to God.

As a teenager, I never actually took the time to think about the music that I listened to in the world. Popular songs like “Rack it up”, featuring Nicki Minaj or “Wild Thoughts” by Dj Khalid weren’t the type of songs that were going to get me closer to God.  Learning that women were just being degraded, with a nice beat behind it, didn’t make me feel so good anymore.

When the topic Purity was brought to the table my heart dropped. I, Brianna, battled with so much that involved that word (purity). The devil had already convinced me that I could never be pure and that I wasn’t good enough to receive such grace and mercy from God. But then I opened my ears and learned that with prayer and a better connection with God, I could become spiritually pure. As a young lady and a child of God, I learned that God so much planned for me and that He will give me the desires of my heart if I will give Him my all. Thinking back to that day, I am grateful to have a group of girls walking and learning with me, and teachers who lit a flame in me to only want more of God.

Leave a comment